"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-18-2011, 03:50 PM   #1
Cook

Trying to cook for first time. This recipe...

I know this probably doesn't sound like a big deal to many of you but this is my first time trying to make something that isn't a sandwich in the kitchen. I'm open to constructive criticism and any tips.

I used to play on a sports team and after the games a lot of husbands & wives would go out to dinner. I had this about 3 years ago in a San Francisco restaurant and am just now getting up the nerve to try the recipe. If you can think of anything that would make it better please let me know. It’s a bowtie pasta in alfredo sauce with grilled chicken, artichoke hearts, black olives, capers, pinoli, garlic and roasted red peppers. I’m using alfredo out of a can since I don’t know how to make it fresh.

I will sauté all the ingredients in a skillet then pouring in the alfredo sauce. If you can think of anything that would be good to add, or any cooking tips please let me know. This is the first I’m trying to make......and I'm nervous as hell.

If this is posed in the wrong place I apologize…..still getting the hang of things around here.
Thanks.

Old 02-18-2011, 03:55 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Don't over cook your ingredients before you put in the sauce. All of those ingredients other than the garlic don't need much cooking, only heating through. Give the capers and artichoke hearts a good rinse so you don't get too many strong flavors in with the sauce.

I'd add some oil or butter, saute the garlic for a few minutes then add the other ingredients. Let them simmer for a minute or two and then add your sauce. Use a big enough pan or pot so you can add your cooked pasta right in with it. Don't overcook the pasta. Pull it while it still al dente. It will continue to cook in the sauce while you bring it to the table and on your plate.

Good luck and bon apetit!!!