ISO Cookie dough for cut outs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paperwhite

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone, I am a newbie to the site and also to baking.
I'm entranced by the thought of stained glass cookies, but I am havng trouble finding a good recipe for dough that's easy to roll out and cut, and holds its shape. Some of the recipes have basically been short bread cookies, which are just impossible to roll out and cut shpes with..it goes from being "completely brittle" when chilled.. to "waay relaxed" when warm enough to roll.

Welcome, paperwhite! If you Google "stained glass cookies" you can find all sorts of information, from instructions on how to make them, to recipes.

Let us know how you make out!:chef:

Shortbread cookies won't work for cutout cookies of any kind, They are too crumbly. You need a good sugar cookie recipe. I can post one for you over the weekend. We used to make hundreds -- maybe thousands -- every Christmas, and frost them and paint them to look like beautiful Santas and trees and bells and etc. It was a lot of work, but very fun. Mom used to get the whole Girl Scout troop over to help, then everyone could pick a few favorites to take home, and she would have boatloads for gifts and parties. :)

Hi, paperwhite, and welcome to DC.

When my children were small, they are in their 30s now, baking cookies was always a fun activity, especially at Christmastime. Here's a recipe I use and have had for well over 30 years. It works perfectly for me every time. I use powdered sugar to "flour" my rolling surface because it keeps the cookies from being tough. The cookies are even easier to remove from the cookie sheet these days now that baking aids such as Silpat and Teflon baking liners are available.

Here's the recipe:

GLASS WINDOW COOKIES​
(Makes about 6 dozen)​
¾ cup shortening (part butter or margarine)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs