How to make dark chocolate candies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

visualprince

Assistant Cook
I'm really sorry that this question is probably really stupid. I am not really good at cooking and never really bothered to try it, but Valentine's day is coming up and I want to make some chocolate candies for my boyfriend.

Problem is, he can't really drink or eat milk related products. Yes, he can eat around 65% chocolates or above (maybe not much, but a little). So I want to make a chocolate that is dark enough for him to eat.

What I've got now is:
1. A pack of 72-75% chocolates
2. Heresy's cocoa powder
3. Butter (does it matter very much if it's salted or unsalted?)
4. Vanilla extract
5. Toppings (many different kinds)
6. Whip cream

Apparently, I tried the 75% chocolates... it's too sweet so I didn't think I need sugar, but its not very rich in chocolate.

The utilities I have at home are (we don't cook here :()
1. Microwave
2. Electric stove
3. And all the general utilities for cutting, eating, mixing, basic cooking etc.
4. Freezer

My friend is going to lend me some stuff later, so I'm not so worried about that ^^

Is there anything I can make simply out of these? Or something like that?

Thank you for any help! :flowers:

Making chocolate candy is NOT too easy unless you make truffles. If you'd like a recipe for those, I'll be glad to post a great tnt one.

Otherwise you will need to temper your chocolate. That's pretty easy to do, but messy and time consuming.

And yes, you will need UNsalted butter.

Hello, Princes and welcome. From what you are saying your butter is no good anyways. Salted or not, if he cannot have milk products you will have to find a substitude.

visualprince, well, I got my wife's candy recipe, but it is probably more like truffles too, rathen than simple chocolate. Let me know if you want it.