"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 10-11-2011, 05:13 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hello out there.

My name is Sylvia, I live in Arizona but I was born & raised in Canada. At first I had a hard time to convert temperatures but now I just look them up online or use the calculator one of my sisters gave me on my last visit home, lol.

I'm a housewife and step mom to two and step grandma to two. All of which lives in another State, so it's just hubby and I that I cook for. He's pretty picky, we've been married 8 years and I'm still learning what he likes and doesn't like.

I've been looking around the web for dish ideas for pork and chicken, he likes how I cook chicken breast, I use extra virgin olive oil along with honey for flavoring...and some spices, pork chops are pretty much the same way...pork roast I make in the slow cooker/crock pot, but I've only made a whole roasted chicken once and a whole roasted turkey once so this is all new to me again. But thanks for having me, any questions just hollar.

Old 10-11-2011, 05:33 PM   #2
Master Chef

My very favorite recommendation for those who are new to roasting an entire bird is to fill the cavity with pierced lemons and a whole head of broken up (don't need to peel) garlic. Roast according to any recipe for a whole chicken. Throw away the lemons, but use the garlic to spread on a crusty bread. You'd be amazed at how mild all that garlic becomes. I like it with a cucumber salad and couscous. After decades, this is still my "go to" preparation for an entire bird and everyone loves it.

Welcome to DC and the USA.

Old 10-12-2011, 01:40 PM   #3
Master Chef

Hi Sylvia, welcome to DC.
Old 10-12-2011, 03:12 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

thanks folks!