Help with honing (Calphalon Katana)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PatrickSauncy

Assistant Cook
Hi. I recently got a Calphalon Katana set as a wedding gift. It came with a diamond steel. I've read that this particular steel doesn't hone, but actually sharpens, and does so rather roughly. I want to be able to hone my knives without taking metal off, but I've read that the steel of these blades (VG-10) is too strong to be shaped with a normal honing steel (hence the diamond steel).

Is any of this true? Is there something I can use to hone these knives without sharpening them and decreasing their useful life? I'm extremely new to cutlery, and have never owned a knife that cost more than $15 before this. Thanks!

tl;dr Can I hone Calphalon Katana knives, and how?

Last edited:
I believe that your knives are VG 1 steel. There is a difference, as you know, between a sharpening steel and a honing steel. A honing steel (probably not the right term) would be really smooth. Depending on your price point, I would look at a Dick or Dexter, both available over the internet, or often at restaurant supply stores, or a glass rod, much higher priced. Try SMKW for good prices on smooth steels. I think that honing only straightens the edge, does not take off steel. There are several threads here on knives and steels. Check them out. Also a couple of very good knife expers. I'm not one of them.

you should absolutely look at an Idahone Ceramic rod (fine grit)....they are very cheap, and very effective for harder steels (your VG-1 included)....though they do impart a slight edge on your knives, it is nothing to worry about, and will give you better results than a diamond or grooved steel (both of which, as you mentioned, can be harsh on your edges)...just dont drop the thing, because it can shatter....i learned about this rod from some knife-nuts who know their stuff