It's the one thing about knives that's scary.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chico Buller

Washing Up
My wife didn't feel like cooking and all of the restaurants on East Washington looked crowded. My SIL was with us, we needed a place to go, so we hit Perkins.

Except for a few "death dogs" at the Harley shop this morning, I had not eaten, and I was glad to get breakfast. Our waitress was unusually peppy (and normally I hate the happy folk) and we spoke briefly. She asked what I did for a living, and I responded "tinker." Most folks don't know what that is, but this young girl exploded.

The young lass was a blade-head.

Now, most guys like knives, and they can usually hold their water when discussing the topic. Lots of women just change the subject--but not female blade-heads.

They gush, they tell you about their collection, they ask if you have a pocket knife, they want to see it, they tell you about their brother's knife...

This girl (by her own admission) described herself as "a screamer." She didn't just love knives, she wanted to be around them. She worked at a cutlery shop, she liked seeing the knives in the restaurant's kitchen, and she proudly showed me a scar she had, twelve stitches, from a sharp katana.

I handed her my Emerson, and she checked the edge. At this point I wasn't too surprised when she said, "Waterstones?"

Oh, and it didn't stop there. Her aunt had traveled to Japan and brought her back "a real katana." For you normal guys, that would be a 10,000 to 30,000 dollar investment for a 'good one.' The better ones, of course, cost more.