Jam Help....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

River Cottage

Assistant Cook
Bonjour, tried making my first ever Jam a few weeks back from Blackberries.

I added berries to a pint of water added sugar and lemon juice and liquid pectin. Bought to a simmer for 20 mins bought to the boil but was still runny.
I thought it might set after it cooled down in the jars.
I checked this morning and they are still runny, can I re-boil or add something to each jar etc to help make them set ??

Merci
Richard

Richard, I think you might have to reboil. But I have to be honest here, I don't know how that would affect the final outcome. This is the jam recipe I use for raspberries and blackberries. You will note that it boils for a few minutes. I think that is key to getting the jam to set correctly. Hopefully someone else will have more insight for you. I'm pretty new to canning myself. I love it, but I'm not great at it.

6 cups berries (closely packed)
6 cups white sugar

Put berries in a pot and mash as they heat. Bring to a FULL rolling boil for 2 minutes. Add warmed sugar. Bring again to full boil for 1 minute. Remove and beat with Dover beater (egg beater) for 4 minutes. Pour into clean sterilized jars and seal fingertip tight.

Jam Help

Hi,