Why do my cookies always turn out rock-hard?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snafu enigma

Assistant Cook
When they're fresh out of the oven, they taste fine. However, after even just 20 minutes, they turn all hard and rocky. Am I doing something wrong?

EDIT

here's the recipe i used from family circle. i followed it exactly since i'm not too experienced at baking.

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions
1. Stir together flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.
2. Beat butter, sugar, egg and vanilla in clean bowl until blended. Stir in flour mixture. Gather into ball. Wrap and refrigerate several hours or overnight.
3. Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly coat baking sheets with nonstick vegetable-oil cooking spray.
4. Roll out dough with lightly floured rolling pin on lightly floured surface to 3/8-inch thickness. Cut into cookies with 2-1/2-inch cookie cutters in holiday shapes. Place cookies on prepared sheets, spacing 1-1/2 inches apart. Decorate with colored sprinkles, sugars, jimmies and gum drops, if desired.
5. Bake in 350 degree F oven for 10 to 12 minutes or until cookies are lightly browned around the edges. Remove cookies to wire racks to cool. Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

Last edited:
Snafu, could you post the recipe please? It will help us troubleshoot what is wrong. My first thought would be that you should try using melted or partially melted butter as that will yield a softer cookie.

Welcome to the site and post that recipe so we can help you out.

:) How long are you baking them?And what is your recipe.Is your oven running too hot for what it says? Get an oven thermometer most ovens run hotter than the settings you put them at