Top sirloin roast?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Silver

Senior Cook
While I often use this cut for steaks (grilled, panfried, whatever)...I figured I'd consult you guys before screwing up a perfectly good roast. It's labelled as being a "Top Sirloin Premium Oven Roast" and is about 3.5 lbs. I've found several threads referring to sirloin tip roasts being less fatty, and I know top sirloin isn't AS fatty either, but wasn't sure on the preferred method of roasting one.

My original plan was just to make a rub for it, sear it, and then dry roast it on a "rack" of carrots, celery, onions, and garlic and make a gravy out of the fond. (I got a new Calphalon Commercial "everyday pan" that I'm eager to try :LOL: )

Other suggestions? I've never done an actual pot roast before, but that'd be an option if it'd make for a much better dining experience.

I would do this as an oven roast, not a pot roast. For a pot roast, I like a boneless chuck roast.

Awesome, I just got a little worried when reading the sirloin tip roast threads.

I will ignore those and proceed as planned. Thanks guys!

Somewhere here--or maybe somewhere else--I have posted about this roast. It will be absolutely delicious, and I have NEVER seen it sold as a roast of that size--you are lucky. This is the roast I served at our family Early Christmas dinner. I got mine at costco--14# whole roast, primal cut. It served our 30, and probably would have gone to 40.
I have in the distant past served sirloin tip, which you must be judicious about cutting across the grain like London Broil to get tender slices. The top sirloin is just that--a boneless sirloin steak ROAST, and you can cut it like a tender roast--straight down cuts.
Be sure to use an instant read thermometer so you don't overcook.
It is DEEElicious. ENJOY.