Transfering soup to container or blender

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ratsrcute

Assistant Cook
I'm pretty new at cooking, and wondering what's the best way to transfer a sauce pan full of soup into a blender, or into a container for storage. Pouring right out of the sauce pan tends to make a mess. :sick:

I suppose a ladle?

Mike

Seriously, pouring is the fastest way. Position your pan/pot at the 50% mark over your target and SLOWLY tilt it forward. Once you have started a stream, you can increase the volume (tilt more heavily) and move backwards away from the 50% mark. The key is to start slow, get some mix in the catching vessel (to avoid splatters from a heavier flow), then adjust positioning based on tilt and flow.

Practice with the pan/pot in question and your blender/container with some water. It’s not that hard once you get the hang of starting slow to prime the receptacle and then move positioning for greater flow.

Sorry I am confused, don't know what the fifty percent mark is.

As an old chemist can pour almost anything. But agree with the idea of playing with water before you do the real thing.

A ladel is the most obvious choice. But, if you have a 2-3 cup measuring cup you can dip it out with that - they have a pour spout.

Something you might want to consider is getting an immersion blender (sometimes called a hand blender or stick blender), you can get a good basic one for $20-50 - check at Target or WalMart or on the appliance aisle at your grocery store. This will eliminate the need to move hot soup to a counter-top blender, and does just as good of a job.

I agree that practise makes it less messy. I also have Pyrex saucepans with a pouring lip. I sometimes use a funnel.