"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Culinary Gardener
Click Here to Login

Old 11-09-2019, 04:15 AM   #1
Executive Chef

What variety Onions do you grow, and want do you do to ensure success ?

Ive been gardening for 25 years , and grew up helping my father with his garden , so I consider myself a relatively experienced home gardener ( except when it comes to onions ).

I was just curious what varieties work for you, and if you have any techniques that ensure predictability and success from year too year.

Due to my location, Long Day varieties are advised ( and what ive been doing consistently)

Ive tried Alisa Craig, Copra, walla walla, Spanish yellow and a few other varieties.
Ive used high nitrogen fertilizers ) as directed).

As far as I know, Im following all the growing directions accurately.

I grow them in raised beds with controlled soil and irrigation

I order from: https://www.dixondalefarms.com

Its not that I never have luck, just very unpredictable. Maybe 1 out of every 4 years is good ( and never great). If it was 1 out of 4 I'd chalk it off as maybe just not ideal weather conditions, but its too frequent to give Mother Nature all the blame. Ive had other crops do well in the same location over the years so I dont think its a sun issue.

IM thinking maybe Im just putting too much thought and effort and over thinking. I just laugh when I do all this reading and prep work, follow directions and then someone I bump into, with little experience just tosses them in without a care and has a much greater year than I do.