Onion Bagels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy M.

Certified Pretend Chef
Here's my recipe for onion bagels. I've been making this recipe for 12-15 years with great success. I don't compare them to New York bagels or Montreal bagels. I was unsatisfied with the bagels I got from Einstein Brothers and Finagel a Bagel so I decided to make my own.

ONION BAGELS

465 Gr Warm Tap Water
1 Pkg Active Dry Yeast
1 Tb Sugar
735 Gr Bread Flour
2 tsp Kosher Salt
¼ C Toasted Onion Flakes
1½ tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Oil
1 Tb Sugar

Combine the water, yeast, and the sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook (coat the top part of the hook with oil to minimize sticking). Stir and let stand until foamy, about 10 minutes depending on room temperature.

Separately combine the flour, salt, onion flakes and onion powder. Turn the mixer on to the lowest speed and gradually add the dry ingredients to the mixer bowl. Mix until the dough comes together. Continue mixing for 10 minutes at speed setting 2 until a stiff dough is formed.

Remove the dough from the bowl and oil the bowl. Place the dough back in the bowl, turning the dough to coat it completely with oil. Place plastic wrap directly onto the dough surface and let it rise in a warm spot until doubled in size.

Preheat the oven to 400º F.

Bring 4 quarts of water and 1 tablespoon of sugar to boiling in the widest pan available (5½-qt. sauté pan). Line two half sheet pans with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the bowl and knead briefly by hand to deflate it. Using a scale and a calculator, remove 1/12th of the dough from the bowl and form it into a smooth ball then poke your finger through the center of a ball and twirl it around your finger to enlarge it to a 3½-4 inch diameter. Repeat for all the dough. Place the shaped bagels on a floured surface and cover with a towel. Allow it to rest and rise.