"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-02-2011, 11:51 AM   #1
Head Chef

Amusing Food Stories

Do you have an amusing food story?
I once worked in a retirement village. One elderly woman told me about the first turkey she ever cooked. She got a twenty pound bird at the butcher. Not knowing how to cook it she asked the butcher how much bread she would need to stuff a turkey that size. Jokingly he said about twenty loaves. So, trusting him she bought twenty loaves of bread. Can you imagine making that much stuffing and then discovering that it won't all fit in the bird? Well, I'm not very good at story telling. But I'll bet you are. What is your story?

Old 02-02-2011, 12:27 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

When I first joined up here, I posted a tale of a duck cooking we had at Rendezvous.
You might find it amusin'.
Howdy! Am new here.
You will have to scroll down a mite. It is along about reply #10.
Wow!!, It sure don't seem like I been reading and posting here since Aug. 2007.

Old 02-02-2011, 12:42 PM   #3
Flour Child

When I was age 8, I remember being
in San Francisco with my parents and
enjoying seafood at Fisherman's Wharf
which I thought was "Fisherman's Dwarf".

. My kitchen is for dancing. Bring me sunshine in a cup~emily dickinson. Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
mollyanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 01:02 PM   #4
Executive Chef

I love the duck story. Made me think of another camping story.