"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 03-23-2009, 08:20 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Do you prefer to follow recipes or experiment?

I dont cook very often, but I would like to get into it more. My parents cook dinners and bake sometimes but they dont cook speacial dishes or anything and I have cable, I cant find many cooking shows :(.

But to the point. Do you prefer to follow recipes or mix things and invent your own dishes? Personally the latter sounds more fun to me, but I dont know ingredients well or anything, which I assume is normal considering Im a novice. How long does it take to get used to it all and be able to mix things together with success? How do you begin too cook legitemite dishes?

Thanks

Old 03-23-2009, 08:24 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

I have a few things too add.

Im finding it frustrating, I learned how to make a good omlette, and I enjoyed making it a lot, but I dont know what too do now, I dont know where too start, do I look at recipes? Im not used to all the ingredients, what they are and where to get them if I dont have them, the utensils and tools you need for them and how exactly you put it all together. As pathetic as this may be, I think I may have found something I might love, but Im finding it incredibly frustrating to get started. Im thinking of getting a book like cooking for dummies or something.

Old 03-23-2009, 08:51 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Hi, Lotsofjunk. First...Welcome to DC. You'll enjoy our big foodie family.