Making time to cook/Cooking efficiently

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coookies

Cook
Despite my best efforts and planning, I never seem to be able to cook efficiently. I suppose I do make time to cook but when I do, that means not eating dinner until 9 pm (or later!), which doesn't work when the BF leaves for work at 6 am. I'm a busy college student living (FAR) off campus in my own apartment with said BF, which also cuts free time at home as it takes me anywhere from 30-90+ minutes to commute into school every day. I work on campus too, so when classes are in session, I could be gone from 6:30 - 7 am to 7 - 8 pm or later. Take-out and frozen dinners can be great lifesavers in a pinch (such as finals week) but I personally value cooking from scratch as it tends to save a lot of money and is more nutritious and, obviously, more often than not tastes better.
We do tend to make enough to have leftovers, but we get sick of them after a couple of days and they end up going bad in the fridge..

So I'd like to ask everyone, what are your tricks and tips for staying efficient (not just with cooking but clean up too!) on a busy schedule? When you have a slew of leftovers, do you have a way of jazzing them up to make them stretch?

When you have free time, cook up a big batch of food and freeze it in meal-sized portions. I do this with chili, stews, soups, casseroles, pasta sauce, lasagna, etc.

Once you build up a nice variety of stuff in the freezer, it's easy to have some variety in meals.

In addition, find or develop meals that you can do fast. There was a thread not too long ago about what do you cook when you have no time. As much as I am not a fan of Rachel Ray's TV show, her concept of 30 minute meals is great and others have said her recipes are pretty good.

I tend to freeze left-overs, so I'm not eating the same thing for days.