"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Pasta, Rice, Beans, Grains...

Old 09-29-2004, 10:25 AM   #1
Head Chef

Who makes their own pasta? I need your help!

My wonderful husband made me the proud mother of an Atlas 150 with all the bells-and-whistles attachments this year. And I have to say that even my pasta tastes so much better than the boxed stuff. I'm brand new at this, having made fettuccini four times now (love adding spinach or herbs!) and ravioli twice, and would appreciate your dough recipes and advice. Is pasta flour really better than all-purpose?

My biggest woe is with ravioli. When cooked, the dough is...well...kind of rubbery and not the delicate little package I had envisioned. I always "rest" my dough, wrapped in plastic, in the fridge for at least an hour, and I've tried rolling the stuff much thinner, but then it dissentegrates when cooking. I know I'm missing something here...

My dough recipe is:

3 C. durum semolina
2 large eggs
3 Tbsp. water
1 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt

Using my food processor, I pulse the flour and salt a couple of times, and whisk the eggs, water and olive oil together in a measuring cup, which I then pour in a slow, continuous stream into the flour until the dough forms a ball and pulls away from the sides of the processor. Then I divide the stuff, wrap each half tightly in lots of plastic wrap, and refridgerate for at least an hour. To make the pasta, I remove a half at a time from the fridge, knead the stuff for a minute, then divide it and begin rolling.

Thoughts...???

Old 09-29-2004, 11:43 AM   #2
Sous Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audeo
Is pasta flour really better than all-purpose?...