"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > International Cuisines and Ethnic Cookery

Old 05-10-2007, 03:47 AM   #1
Sous Chef

Experienced Cook Needs Sushi Help

Ok guys, Im an experienced cook, but Sushi I have no experience making.

I understand the principle, you need to make sushi rice, (seems like the most important component) then the seaweed and fillings.

Heres my question. For the Sushi rice, all I have in my apt. are pots and pans, I dont have a steemer, will i get by? How should I make the Sushi rice?
I plan to just use white rice, cook once til fluffy, refridgerate once doused with sugar and rice vinegar, then use the next day. Hows that sound?

The seaweed I plan to wet slightly before use, and then I will have to hand roll it since i have no bamboo sheet or whatever.

Any advice is much appreciated, Ill be using Imitation crab and Smoked Salmon for starters.

Old 05-10-2007, 06:36 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Welcome to DC, BBQ Mikey.

Sushi rice is a pecific type of rice. You need a medium grain rice. Regular long grain white rice will not work.

You can cook rice without a steamer, I do it all the time. Here's how I do it:

3⅓ C Sushi Rice
4 C Water
C Water

6 Tb Rice Vinegar
5 Tb Sugar
1 Tb Salt

Rinse rice under running water until the water runs clear then drain in a colander for 1 hour.

Place the drained rice in a pot with a tight-fitting lid and add 4 cups water.

Over medium heat, cover and bring the water to a boil. Boil for about 2 minutes, reduce heat and allow it to simmer for another 5 minutes.

Reduce heat to low and cook for about 15 minutes, or until water has been absorbed.

Remove from the heat, remove lid, and place a towel over pot. Replace lid and let stand for 10 to 15 minutes.

While the rice cooks, combine vinegar, sugar, salt and cup water in a saucepan. Heat over low temperature, stirring, until sugar and salt dissolve. Set aside to cool.