Muffin Biz

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nikkilcotie

Assistant Cook
Ok. I'm a multi-talented-have-no-idea-what-I-wanna-do-when-I-grow-up mom and wife. My hubby makes enough so that I don't have to work. I've experience in planning weddings and events (about 6 years), cleaning houses (about 8 years) and baking. Well, the only people I've ever baked for is my family and for my hubby to take goodies to work (which he says everyone raves over). But now with the new move, (and finding out we're newly pregnant) I am hoping to be able to work from my home. Baking. So I've come up with a Business Idea (and I'm sure it probably exists elsewhere) bake muffins (breakfast platters, soups, sandwiches and deserts which will come later, after I find out how well it goes) and deliver them to businesses. I'm a great cook so I'm not really worried about that (not arrogant am I? LOL), but in the are we are moving, we don't know ANYONE. Do any of you do something like this, or have you heard of something like this? Any thoughts or opinions you all may have would be greatly appreciated.
Have a great weekend!!!:-p

Welcome, nikkilcotie!

I've seen it happen, as a business, but keep in mind, you'll have to consider the laws that may pertain to such an undertaking. Because you'll be selling out of your home, will you need the state health inspection? Will you be getting a business license? It is a hard thing to do! However, I know there are different laws for each state. I have a family member who had an extrodinary recipe, which everyone went crazy for. Because she's a natural salesgal, she talked the local upscale dept store (can't say names, but they have a nice coffee bar inside) to start carrying that one item from her. Her goodies got so popular, she began baking other things from them as well. This led to her starting a cake business, which now flourishes.