"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 10:54 AM   #1
Master Chef
 
texasgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,497
Need help from the dvd/vcr electronic geeks

I am trying to record onto a vhs tape from a dvd. I have tried everything that I can think of and can't get it to record. It's my sister's dvd, Walk the line, and I want to record it for my son as he can't get over here to watch it before I give it back to sis.
This is how my tv and the others are set up.
directv reciever to vcr and then out to tv.
dvd is hooked to tv.
Should I just unhook the Directv and run the dvd to vcr and then to tv?
There is nothing on the dvd or vcr manuals that show what to do. I guess it's for copy infringement {sp} Or, could it be the dvd is blocking any recording?


I'm the one that hooks everything imaginable to this stuff and can normally get it all working perfectly, but, this one isn't working and there is no help from dh as he's NOT the electronic person as I am.

__________________

__________________
texasgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 11:03 AM   #2
Senior Cook
 
Hopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Utah, near Park City
Posts: 272
Trying to give instructions over long distance is hard.

YOur DVD player must have a Signal Output with three colored cables on it- Red, White, Yellow.
Your VCR will have an INPUT connection of the same colors... use a cable and connect the red to red, white to white yellow to yellow.

The VCR will have another signal Out place, probably a thing for Coaxial cable- thats the one fat cable with silver screw-on terminal at the end.

connect that from the VCR to the TV.

Put a (known) good already recorded tape in the VCRe and play it to make sure you have signal from VCR to TV.

Then try to turn on the DVD and see if you can play the DVD thru the VCR to the TV. If you can't see the picture- you cant record it.

You may have to try various switch configurations...probably the TV/VCR switch on the VCR....

Ought to work... Leave power off all devices when doing any of the cable work. You cannot hurt anything by trying...
__________________

__________________
Favorite Quote: "Time Flies Like an Arrow - Fruit Flies Like a Banana"
Groucho Marx
Hopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 11:14 AM   #3
Master Chef
 
texasgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,497
Thank you Hopz!!
Both of my vcr's only have audio/video {white and yellow}
My dvd does have the three, but, I have those hooked into my surround sound.
I will take a picture of the backs and see if you can figure it out like that.
__________________
texasgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:13 PM   #4
Master Chef
 
texasgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,497
Nevermind, there is evidently something called Macrovision on these dvd's and keeps you from copying them. I guess son will just have to wait and see it later when it comes on cable. Thanks for your help Hopz!!
__________________
texasgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:24 PM   #5
Senior Cook
 
Hopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Utah, near Park City
Posts: 272
Texasgirl...
OK fine- but I think the Macrovision thing has to do with not letting you making a copy on your computer...

Once the signal gets to the VCR- I **think* any electronic barrier to making a copy is not a factor.

And, I might suggest you look again at the back of the VCR.. I have never seen a VCR with just a two wire Input or Output. There are two -what they call RCA plugs- for The Audio (sound) one red the other yellow.Thats right channel/left channel. The White is the Video signal (picture). (I may have the color-channel thing mixed up, but it does not matter.

In any case if you don't want to fuss with it I understand...
__________________
Favorite Quote: "Time Flies Like an Arrow - Fruit Flies Like a Banana"
Groucho Marx
Hopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:40 PM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 18,736
tg, you might be able to take an output of your tv to get around the copy protection.
the tv's composite output may be able to clean up and remodulate the signal so it won't make the vcr record circuits go nuts, preventing a good record.

take and post the pics and we'll see what we can do.
__________________
in nomine patri, et fili, et spiritus sancti.


Meh nom eh noh...doot dooooo do do do.
buckytom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:43 PM   #7
Master Chef
 
texasgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,497
here is the back of the vcr and dvd.
vcr has audio and video in and out, antenna in and rf out.
dvd has audio and video in and out, cr/pc and cb/pb.
The dvd came up first.

I'll get a picture of the tv too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dvd.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	1234  
Attached Images
 
__________________
texasgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:55 PM   #8
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 18,736
darn, i was hoping your dvd had an rf input (the fat black cables), it doesn't look like it does.

ok, does your tv have an audio (red/white) and video (yellow) output. if so, reverse the cables that go from the dvd to the tv so that the output of the tv feeds the input of the dvd.

hope this works...
__________________
in nomine patri, et fili, et spiritus sancti.


Meh nom eh noh...doot dooooo do do do.
buckytom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 01:07 PM   #9
Master Chef
 
texasgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 9,497
Here is the back of the tv, hopefully they will come up in the right order. A whole of the back and a close up of each group, left to right.

And of course it didn't.
It came out, each group right to left and then the whole of the back.

Dang, please don't look at the dust!!

the s video is coming into the tv from the dvd.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tv4.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	25.1 KB
ID:	1235   Click image for larger version

Name:	tv3.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	1236  

Click image for larger version

Name:	tv2.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	1237   Click image for larger version

Name:	tv1.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	30.8 KB
ID:	1238  

__________________
texasgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 01:18 PM   #10
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 18,736
yup, it doesn't look like there's an rf out of the tv. it may need that to remodulate the signal so it will be able to be copied.

well, don't remove any cables, but if you have extra cables, still try connecting the audio and video outputs of the tv to the vcr inputs. then select that input on the vcr, start the dvd, hit record and do a quick test to see what happens.
__________________

__________________
in nomine patri, et fili, et spiritus sancti.


Meh nom eh noh...doot dooooo do do do.
buckytom is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.