"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 10-30-2009, 05:58 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Random Meal Generator Website

Hi, everyone :) Haven't been here in a while, so I hope everyone is doing well :) This is "kind of" an off topic post - but it's also about food, so I hope it's in the right place.

Aside from loving to cook, I also do website work (yes, I'm going somewhere with this :P). I graduated from culinary school a few months ago, and because of this I get a lot of people at my work asking me "what should I make for dinner tonight?". My wife and I also have this discussion just about everyday. So, I was thinking if there was a website that would give dinner ideas at the click of a mouse, that would be great. That led me to think "hey, I should make that!". So, that is my plan. The idea would be basically - two options "instant meal" - where someone who doesn't want to do any real cooking could get a random suggestion like "tacos from a box" or "frozen pizza". Those ones will be simple. The second option, however, will be an actual meal - main, starch, veg(all randomized so the same chicken could have multiple starch and veg combinations) or one pot meals like chili etc. What I would like to ultimately have is, with each menu suggestion, a link to a recipe to make that item.

Now, the reason why I've rambled on to all of you fine folks is that I'd LOVE some suggestions on individual parts of the plate - MAIN, STARCH & VEGETABLE, or one pot meals like chili, and any links to recipes online that you've tried and loved. If anyone here can help out with suggestions, that would be great!!!

Thanks for any and all suggestions - also if you have suggestions on improving my actual concept I'd love to hear it too :)

Adam

Old 10-30-2009, 06:27 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

How about a section for entertaining? You could have subsections for formal sit down dinner, brunch, buffet, etc.