"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 04:08 PM   #1
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,357
"AMP"? What's that? etc.

A *member? contacted me re a recipe I posted to get clarification, because the word "amp" showed up in the post. Have also noticed other posts with the word "amp." What does that mean/why does it show up in recipes/posts in forums here, please? How can we(?) avoid/fix it?

*Member? I received an e-mail, I assumed was from a member asking for clarification on the recipe re the "amp" showing up. When I checked the member list, that person was not a listed member. I have no problem with helping people out, when they want to try the recipe & it's post is not clear. Wondering how they got my email address? Assumed, when you allow others to see your email address, that would be for the members here only to view - that would only appear in our profiles.

Thanks in advance for any help.

__________________

__________________
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:11 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
middie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cleveland,Ohio USA
Posts: 16,264
Send a message via Yahoo to middie
i'm guessing "ample amounts" ?? i could be wrong but that's my guess.
__________________

__________________
middie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:19 PM   #3
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,357
No, it's not ample amounts. It appears in posts that have nothing to do with recipes as well. I first noticed it in a few of Crewk's posts. Guessing this a puter/site translation problem?

Admin. help please!
__________________
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:23 PM   #4
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
"amp" sometime shows up when an ampersand (sp?) is used. For instance salt & pepper might show up as salt &amp (or maybe it is amp&) pepper. unfortunately I don't think there is any way around this other than not using the ampersand.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:27 PM   #5
DC Grandma
 
Dove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA,California
Posts: 3,217
Thanks GB..I have noticed the same thing and passed it off as a typo.
__________________
May I always be the person my dog thinks I am.

Walk towards the Sunshine and the Shadows will fall behind you!
Dove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:28 PM   #6
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,357
Thanks GB. Noticed you typed out S & P and no "amp" showed up. Confused here. (Reminded me of the old hidden dos? commands used to appear, but never recall that sign). Not sure how this happens.
__________________
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:30 PM   #7
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,357
Hmm, noticed the amp didn't show up in my post to you re salt & pepper. Very odd.
__________________
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:42 PM   #8
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Yeah sometimes it happens and sometime it doesn't. I am not exactly sure why. It could have something to do with the type or version of browser (just a guess here) or it could be something completely different. The ampersand is used as a command in some computer languages and this is the reason sometime when you use it things do not look right.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:02 PM   #9
Sous Chef
 
PolishedTopaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: East End of Long Island
Posts: 915
The plus sign works for me, any recipe I post will have S+P to taste.
__________________
Just because someone tells you that you can't do something doesn't mean you have to listen.
PolishedTopaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:10 PM   #10
Master Chef
 
SierraCook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sierra Valley, Northern California, USA
Posts: 5,580
I mostly have noticed it happening in older posts that were posted before the new format change.
__________________

__________________
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.

Theodore Roosevelt
26th president of US (1858 - 1919)
SierraCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.