"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef
Old 05-28-2007, 01:30 AM   #1
Senior Cook
How do you make the BEST burgers?

What makes the best hamburgers? I don't think I've ever had one with fresh ingredients before & I'm sure that would make a huge difference with there. I've read about squealer burgers in Texas, where ground bacon is mixed in with the ground beef before making the patties. Bobby Flay makes pressed ham & cheese burgers which he says are Cuban-style, they look reall good also. The recipe is here:
Recipes : Cuban-style Burgers on the Grill : Food Network
list all your hamburger secrets here

The bird could eat its way out of the cage. That was very real to me. As an apprentice, I too felt like a bird in a cage made out of bread. I just fed on my limits. -- Lionel Poilane
baking fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:12 AM   #2
Executive Chef
Send a message via MSN to YT2095
one that`s really inportant is to make sure mince has enough Fat in it, at least 10%, otherwise they end up far to dry.

So long and Thanks for all the Fish ;)

YT2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:22 AM   #3
Master Chef
Send a message via Yahoo to Barb L.
I agree with YT, I use nothing but ground chuck, and do not over handle - go gentle when making patties.
Grandma's Boys - Isaiah (11) Cameron (3 )
Barb L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:43 AM   #4
Executive Chef
yesterday I made what DH called, the best hamburger possibly that he has ever had. It was 2/3 rds ground beef (about 90% lean), 1/3 rd ground chevon, kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, some garlic powder, and a liberal amount of olive oil. Cooked on the gas weber. I added the olive oil to the mix and also on each side of the burger as they were grilling.