"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
I need a stand mixer!

I have a serious stand mixer problem!
I desperately need one, but the one I want is only available in Europe (Kenwood Major), so that plan is out the window.

I used to have a KA pro 600, but it just isn't doing the job with less than 600W. I got so annoyed with it that I sold the damn thing on Craigslist, and now I'm spending what feel like hours and hours on kneading.

So now what? Is there an alternative to the Kenwood Major in the US (I believe the DeLonghi is discontinued), or do I need to rewire my house?
I need at least 1200W motor, pref 1500W.

Solutions anyone?

__________________

__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:43 PM   #2
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
What are you mixing at home that you need something that can handle more than the KA600Pro?

You could look into a Hobart, but they are not cheap (new).
__________________

__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
I'm using it for bread baking mainly, and it usually starts getting real hot and burnt smelling after only 6-7 minutes on low speed.
Everyone else I've talked to has the same experience with low wattage and bread dough aswell.
(I might mention that I come from a culture of super healthy brick like killerbread)

Anything else the KA handles just fine though.

I looked at Hobarts, and I'd have to get rich first for those, so I need something while I wait.


What about brands like Viking, Cuisinart and that stuff? Just as mediocre as KA?
__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolledeig View Post
I'm using it for bread baking mainly, and it usually starts getting real hot and burnt smelling after only 6-7 minutes on low speed.
Everyone else I've talked to has the same experience with low wattage and bread dough aswell.
(I might mention that I come from a culture of super healthy brick like killerbread)

Anything else the KA handles just fine though.

I looked at Hobarts, and I'd have to get rich first for those, so I need something while I wait.


What about brands like Viking, Cuisinart and that stuff? Just as mediocre as KA?

How much dough were you asking the KA to do in one batch?
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:01 PM   #5
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolledeig View Post

What about brands like Viking, Cuisinart and that stuff? Just as mediocre as KA?

I have never used Viking or Cuisinart so I can't speak to them. I am happy with my Pro600 and I make bread weekly (at least). How much flour and what hydration are you using?

The only thing I have used other than KA was the Hobarts. I used to use on of those large floor models (like 144QT or so). Heavy bowl.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
How much dough were you asking the KA to do in one batch?
Hmmm, maybe somewhere around 3kg?
Not that much. It should be able to take 3kg dough?
__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:06 PM   #7
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
Ahh..

That might be your problem. The 600Pro is rated at 14 cups of flour (about 1680g). So you are trying to use almost twice what it is rated as its max.

You can either halve what you are doing, or you are going to have to go with something in the lower commercial range.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:14 PM   #8
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
Man, I hadn't even thought of that. Thank you!

But I have to say, 14 cups ain't that much.

Do you or anybody have anything in the lower commercial range to recomend?
Something less then several thousand dollars perhaps? :p

I need a mixer that I can use for anything from large yeast doughs to cookies, egg white beating, cake batter and sausage stuffing!
__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:18 PM   #9
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolledeig View Post
But I have to say, 14 cups ain't that much.
I suppose that is dependent on where you sit. It had been more than enough for my needs.

You could hunt eBay for Hobarts, or other commercial mixers.

I don't know how big they need to be before they start to require 3phase but you can't do that as it is against the NEC for residential installs and no one is going to do it.

Can you not do two batches? If the mixer did everything else you needed it might be the best way to sort your issue.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:25 PM   #10
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
I don't know, man.. I might feel too restricted by 14 cups.

This is the wonder I'm drooling at
Titanium Major - KM023

I just don't understand why Europeans feel like they need bigger stand mixers than Americans. Everything is bigger in America! Except stand mixers...


You think it's gonna be a hastle to dig out a 900kg Hobart every time I need to whip 3 egg whites? Or are they easy to deal with?
__________________

__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ka beaters, mixer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.