Mortar and pestle selection

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ardor

Assistant Cook
Okay, i have been searching the net for the types of mortar and pestles i can get.

What i found are:

Marble: good all round use, easy to clean, cheap to buy, prone to acid attacks.

Granite: popular, easy to use, hard to move around.

Ceramic: does not carry over odors, not prone to acid attaks.

Porcelain: easiest to clean

Can anyone add to what i have found online?

Are there any other suggestion of which mortar and pestle i should get?

I'm a university student, so expensive ones are just not an option... Hygiene is important, of course.

Well I can add to one thing you do not want. I have a marble Mortar, which I love. The pestle however is wood and I hate it. Not only is it very hard to keep clean, it does not have enough weight to it. I really like the marble because of how heavy it is. I can really work something hard and know that the mortar will not move around on me. Now if I could just get a replacement pestle I would be all set.

This is the one I have. I am a horrible judge of weight so I hesitate to make a guess, but it is very heavy. I would say maybe 7-10lbs, but I could be way off.

My daughter got me a black marble mortar with a marble pestle at Target. I don't think it is much smaller than the one GB has. So far I like it. I agree about the wooden pestles not working too well.

Yup, my internet research says wooden mortar and pestles should only be used for one type of food. Absorbs too much...

Conclusion: marble is good?

The only problem I see with steel and brass is that they are not as abrasive as some of the others like stone.