Recently purchased baualu some scratches need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bananafeller

Assistant Cook
hi i'm fairly new to cooking but when i get into something i realy try and learn everything there is to learn so i've read countless reviews on buying cookware and taking care of it on materials and everything. and i had decided on a set of ss calphalon cookware until i found these BAUMALU pots at homesense (canadian store similar to TJM) all 7 pots set me back about 180$ Canadian which think was a really good deal so i picked them up right away upon further inspection i found sevreal problems and i'm wondering how serious they are.

1- The two smaller saucepans are 1mm think instead of 2mm
2- several ppots have stratchs in the tin
3- the large saucepan has a gouge in the outside copper
4- all the pots seam to have sharp edges.

Btw the copper bowl was inherited from my grandfather a chocolatier and pastry chef.

Attachments

• IMG_0608.jpg
    IMG_0608.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_0610.jpg
    IMG_0610.jpg
    106.3 KB · Views: 239
  • IMG_0617.jpg
    IMG_0617.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 226
  • IMG_0618.jpg
    IMG_0618.jpg
    81 KB · Views: 231
  • IMG_0619.jpg
    IMG_0619.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 240
Kitchen items get rough handling at stores like TLMax, MArshalls etc. so the scratches and gouges etc don't surprise me. If you intent to cook with your pans they will get dinged and scratched the more you use them.

THe scratch on the lip is not going to affect the cooking properities or endanger copper issues. THe other scratch is thin and likewise will not cause problems.

Tin (the metal your pans are lined with) will darken with use, and if you use mild dish soap and a sponge or cloth to wash with, the metal will ast quite a while before it needs re-tinning (years)