"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware

Old 07-22-2005, 05:32 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Stainless Steel cookware

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the cooking world. My major is dietetics with a minor in culinary arts. Me and my fiancee recently purchased a 7-ply stainless cookware set. I've been trying them out for about a week. I have several questions to ask you pros:

1) I noticed that after making steak and some chicken breasts, there was an outline staining of the meats. It looked like water spots. I could not take it off w/normal soap and hot water. I had to use bar keepers friend to do the trick. But I don't want to do this everytime. Are these stains normal, am I preheating too high/long? Someone mentioned to me about seasoning while the meat is cooking, instead of seasoning before hand because the salt can stain the pan?

2) I noticed the bottom of the pans turned into a light brown color. Is this normal? I know bar keepers friend takes care of this. How often should I use this cleanser? 2x per month? 1x per week?

3) Are there any special types of sponges you all use? Brand names that are good? I know not to use harsh sponges like steel wool etc... Is there any difference between a $3 sponge vs. a .75cent sponge?

Thank you for any feedback!

Old 07-22-2005, 05:37 PM   #2
Executive Chef

I hate stainless steel......never use it.

Old 07-22-2005, 08:42 PM   #3
Senior Cook

Send a message via AIM to SpiceUmUp
Ok, the shadow line you are seeing may well be from the salts. It is not a big deal, only cosmetic and as you discovered, BKF took it off. Season after the pan is up to temp, add your oil and then the meat and then season. The brown on the outside shoudl be cleaned off after each use because it will become a carbon black crust over time and be very difficult to take off.
Old 07-22-2005, 08:58 PM   #4
Master Chef