Stainless Steel vs Hard Anodized

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nattie

Assistant Cook
Hi, I'm a newbie... I want to buy a decent set of pots and pans that will last me a very good while, perform well, and be able to put in the dishwasher if I so desire (this is a secondary concern).

I've ruled out (I think) buying a non-stick coated set, but am still wondering about whether I should go stainless steel or hard-anodized... Does anyone have any advice? Is the performance of hard anodized hugely superior to stainless steel? Even if is more durable, is this really a concern since apparently good stainless steel lasts for ages anyway??

Appreciate any advice or feedback!

Last edited:
hi Nattie, and welcome to the site.

the type of cookware in your kitchen is a definite matter of personal preference. i'm sure you'll find just as many disciples of anodized as you will of stainless (i'm stainless all the way, and yes, my same set has lasted me well since early college...NO nonstick here either), and a few for good old fashioned cast iron, too. go buy yourself one nice pot of each, of a quality you won't mind keeping around, and test drive 'em. when you know what YOU like, then head on out and buy your set.

meanwhile, search through the archives, because discussions like this have come up many a time in the past.

I've begun switching from anodized to stainless for two reasons... easier clean up and less reactive to the foods I cook. I use tomatoes quite a bit in cooking, and anodized almost always changes the color and flavor of my tomato dishes. Also, and perhaps it's the way I'm cooking, anodized seems to stick worse than stainless does.

When you consider SS, you should look at tri-ply layered SS. The entire pan body is two layers of SS with a layer of Aluminum in between. This is the best option for SS and it's the best option IMO.