"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware

Old 02-02-2013, 08:17 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Which cookware to buy for stir frying?

So, I am looking to replace a nonstick pan, which I have introduced many small scratches into.

Doing some online research, I have decided to go with stainless steel because it should last me a lifetime and I do not want the health risks of nonstick. I also want to buy on Amazon, so that I can see the reviews.

What type of cookware should I get (pan, skillet, wok)? Currently, I own two stainless steel pots (one big, one small). Also, I primarily have been using my nonstick pan for Pad Thai, stir frying vegetables, and fried egg. Then again, I am still a 1-2 years cooking newbie, so I am sure there are many recipes to come in future (you guys would have a better sense of this ).
Also, it would be nice if it works in the oven and I want it to fit my electric stove, which has the largest burner being 7 inches in diameter.

Also, I am ready to spend good money, as I value quality and hope to have this last me for a lifetime!

PS: If you have any specific Amazon recommendations, please do post the link.

Old 02-03-2013, 01:24 AM   #2
Assistant Cook

I do not have an Amazon recommendation because they compete with me after I post products on their site. But I do have stainless steel recommendations. The best that I have found is a German product from Fissler with a close second being products from BergHoff - both leaders in Europe but not so well know in the US. If these are not to your liking, I can provide some recommendations for better know brands in the US.

Old 02-03-2013, 01:27 AM   #3
Assistant Cook