"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 06-07-2009, 03:55 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

All Purpose Knife?

I am brand new to cooking, and when I mean brand new to cooking, I mean I have yet to try to cook anything. I was wondering if there is a solid all purpose knife that anyone could recommend. Just the typical knife you see food show hosts use to chop/dice just about everything up with. Any replies are greatly appreciated

Old 06-07-2009, 04:36 PM   #2
Head Chef

The basic knife you want is what's called a French Chef's Knife or just Chef's or Cook's Knife. It should have a blade about 8 inches long and look like this:

However, you probably also will want a smaller knife for some things, like this one with a thinner 6-inch blade:

Old 06-07-2009, 04:43 PM   #3
Senior Cook

I agree with Scotch and use 2 knives for 90% or more
of my needs.
While most western cooks choose the classic French Chef's
or (lately) Santoku knife along with a good paring knife
my go to main knife if an 8" Chinese knife - along with my paring
knife this gets most jobs done.
Old 06-07-2009, 04:48 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

any particular brands you guys recommend? nothing to expensive, around 50-60 dollars?
Old 06-07-2009, 05:03 PM   #5
Senior Cook

Forschner makes an 8" Chefs knife for about $35
and it is consistantly top buy rated by America's Test Kitchen.

I am partial to Dexter Russell (American company)
and they made my Chinese knife and are major suppliers
of knives for the restaurant industry.
See below.
Dexter-Russell, Inc.
Old 06-08-2009, 08:22 AM   #6
Sous Chef

In your price range ($55) I recommend a Togiharu Molybdenum Gyuto. A Gyuto is a Japanese chef's knife, shaped very much like a French Chef's knife. The steel is thinner and harder than comparable French or German knives so it cuts better and the edge lasts longer. Get a 210mm (8.2") at Korin.

Old 06-17-2009, 08:01 PM   #7