"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 02-04-2010, 11:35 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Beginner looking for a good knife set and cookware

I am a beginner to knives cookware and never thought about spending the money for a good set of knives. This year that is all past me as my hobbies have changed from wrenching on cars to saltwater tanks. Those 2 are very expensive hobbies and I got rid of my 11 sec car to venture into sometihng knew to keep me out of trouble .

so I have a set of JC Penny Cook's block set of knives and just ordered an Edge Pro to learn to sharpen. the professionals here charge $5 a knife. I don't minf paying the money but would rather do it mysef and have the sharpener to use at my own leisure to do my dad's knives .

I was looking into these from reading briefly on this forum. I went to Bedbath and beyond and was looking at the Henkels, Wusthof, ad the Shun's they carry.

Amazon.com: Cuisinart Multiclad Pro Stainless-Steel 12-Piece Cookware Set: Kitchen & Dining

Amazon.com: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Pro S Stainless-Steel 21-Piece Knife Set with Block: Kitchen & Dining

Please let me know what you think.

Old 02-04-2010, 11:42 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

I have the Pro S knives and they are a very good product. I can't imagine you need a 21-piece set even if 9 pieces are the block and steak knives. That's a ton of money! I'd recommend buying 3-4 knives to start and adding to them when you decide what you actually need.

The Cookware set is also a good one. If you are a Costco member, they have a similar set for about $200.00 that will also serve you well.

Old 02-04-2010, 11:43 AM   #3
Chief Eating Officer