"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Knives

Old 06-09-2010, 03:03 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Looking for a long slicer

At my current place of employment, we do prime rib. Unfortunately the knife we use is old, and doesn't hold an edge as well as I would like. I pulled out my 12 inch slicer and the chef told me that it was too short to cut the prime, although my edge was quite superior to the 18 inch the restaurant owns, and will not allow me to use it. I was wondering if there was a good quality 16-18" slicer that will hold an edge comparable to my knives, and that will obviously be taken care of better than the communal knives at work.

Old 06-09-2010, 05:48 PM   #2
Master Chef

I'm sold on Croma Type-301 knives. I have been using my ten-inch chef's knife every day for the past 4 years and it's still as great as when I first took it out of the box. Here's a link for the slicing knife you're looking for.

Chroma Type 301 Ham/Salmon Slicer P26

A second link of reviews for the brand:
Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Chroma Type 301 Designed By F.A. Porsche 10 Inch Chef Knife P01 Hope this helps.

Seeeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- http://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:46 PM   #3
Head Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Count Omulis View Post