"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Farm to Table > Canning and Preserving

Old 07-12-2007, 10:07 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Juice for making jelly

I am new to canning and jelly making, this is really the first year that I have really got into doing these things and I think I am addicted. I love seeing the end result of all the hard work. My question is when you are making jelly such as apple jelly can you use store bought apple juice? This is the recipe that I want to try.7 cups apple juice 1 cup red cinnamon candies 8 cups white sugar 1 box Sure-Jell 1/2 teaspoon butter

Old 07-12-2007, 10:52 AM   #2
Head Chef

Yes, you can use regular store bought juice. If you can get sugar free or no sugar added, you will get a better tasting jelly (not so sweet).

Good Luck!

Old 07-12-2007, 11:44 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Moorebev...

When you consider the cost of juice, sugar, shur-gel, jar lids, time and effort. It is hardly worth the effort from that standpoint. However for fun, and to make something not on your grocers shelf, then...

Have fun, and Enjoy!

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 12:30 PM   #4
Master Chef

I've never made jelly from juice, but I regularly make jams and jelly from fruits and berries. There is no way in the world you can tell me that it is cheaper to buy them in the store. For example I just made some black currant jelly/jam/preserve (I do not know what it is called properly, actually had the whole thread here about it, and still can't figure it out what's what), anyway, the little jar, 5 o6 ounces cost like $5 box in the store. Did not cost me more than a buck, maybe less.
Old 07-12-2007, 01:40 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire