Citrus tart, medieval style

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

whole milk

Senior Cook
Over the summer, trying to learn more about cooking, I started playing with medieval recipes. For me, it was fun to see how, for example, cakes evolved in the kitchen. One online source had reproduced some fine examples of candied citrus peels (my favorite dessert) and, to make a very long story short, what follows is my modernized result: a citrus tart made with the whole fruit.

You can ready the fruit in one day but I've found leaving the fruit to "preserve" for a week yields a tenderer, less bitter peel.

1 lemon
sugar equal to the weight of the fruit
honey to equal 1/2 the weigh of the fruit

(Because the size of fruit can vary, exact measurements would yield different results. But say the lemon is 150 grams, you'll need 150 grams of sugar and 75 grams of honey.)

or

1 orange
sugar equal to the weight of the fruit
(fine) orange liquor to equal 1/4 the weight of the fruit

(a 150 gram orange, 150 grams of sugar, 37.5 grams liquor)

Take the fruit and slice it very, very thinly on a mandolin -- or as fine as you can slice it with a knife -- then combine it with the other ingredients; mix it well and put it in an airtight container. Stir it once each day. (I've let mine stand for a month with no problem and the orange longer as the alcohol seems to keep it better, but one to seven days is fine.)