Filet and Loin Ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
Yeah, I know sounds strange coming from me, But I came across a company that sells a plant based Filet and Loin. I've never tried it before, so I although I don't have high hopes, I'm kind of excited to play around with them. My question is, what do you guys make with these cuts of real beef?

I'm just looking for recipes you guys would use (in a real beef situation) to give me some Ideas to try. Tomorrow I will cook a few up just to feel them out, get an idea of their taste , consistency and how they cook best. Trust me , I am fully aware that there is no comparison , but this (if good) opens up a whole new direction for me to explore. When I used to eat meat (almost 30 years ago), it was primarily burgers, hot dogs, meat balls .... I never had cuts like this, so I am in unexplored territory. Could be a complete failure, as most plant based knock offs, but every now and then one surprises me.

Attachments

• Meat.png
    Meat.png
    673.4 KB · Views: 16
the beef filet is considered the 'top quality' cut from the cow - the 'tenderloin'
many names. bazillions of recipes - which all only vary by the sauces used to dress the beef tenderloin. the tenderloin can be cooked whole and sliced, or sliced into steaks and cooked.
pick any of those recipes and see if the plant based "non-beef" measures up to a real beef tenderloin slice/steak.

"beef loin" aka usually = "eye round roast" is very lean, less tender, much trickier to cook to a delicious scrumptiousness.... best done with long slow wet methods. stews, shredded, etc., DW family has an 19th century passed down recipe for "beef hash" that makes a non-fat-lean eye round into a plate licking good stuff....

the differences are innate to the muscle usage by the cow.