Tequila

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rascal

Head Chef
So I mentioned to my son for my birthday when he asked what I wanted. I said s bottle of tequila. We all laughed it off. I have drunk it before at restaurants but never bought a bottle
Anywho he just got back from Melbourne and we went there fir dinner at his joint.
And voila!! He presented me with this. I'm keeping for special occasions.
Thoughts please as I'm new to this.

Russ

20240303_192336.jpg

It's not really something to keep for special occasions. It's a decent tequila for mixed drinks and shots. You can sip it, but it's not going to have the smoothness of a true sipping tequila.

Our favorite high end ish Mexican restaurant makes what they call tejitos, which is a mojito, pronounced mo-he-to, using a good tequila instead of rum. I  much prefer that to a margarita. Its not as sweet and you get more of the tequila taste.

Last edited:
I have never heard of that brand, but there are a lot of brands I haven't heard of. I did a little searching, and it is 100% Blue Agave (50% is the minimum to be called tequila). All premium tequilas are going to be 100%.

I read some reviews, and they all said that this tequila tastes very good, although one reviewer said the aftertaste was not as good as the taste. But everyone agreed that it was a good buy... it is better than they expected in its price range (around $30 US for 750ml).

Basically, you should like it. Try it straight for the first tasting. No lime, no salt. A good tequila should not need salt or a lime.

I would NOT use this to mix up a batch of margaritas. It's too expensive to use that way. This is a tequila to enjoy straight on special occasions.

BTW, I prefer the silver tequilas to the gold tequilas. Personal preference. The one you got is a silver (clear vs and amber color).

CD