My toppings won't stick to the crust?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mischief Managed

Assistant Cook
Hello! I am new to cooking and I came across a recipe that looked really good to me. I tried to make it, and it tasted good all and all, but there were some critical errors that I really need to fix!
1) The toppings would not stick to the crust. When I tried to cut it up it stuck to the knife and came right off
2) The foil sticks to the crust

I did everything the recipe said (Recipe: Honey Pecan Triangles Recipe | Taste of Home Recipes)

I am not sure if it is because I live in Colorado or what but it just didn't work. Also, the crust was REALLY dry when I put it in the pan. Like, it was cracking almost.

Please let me know how I can fix this! I LOVE how it tastes and would love to bring it to Thanksgiving Dinner.

First thoughts: Reynolds Wrap now makes a nonstick style that works pretty well.

You might try dipping your knife in water before cutting and gently holding the topping down with your fingers as you cut. And maybe add a bit of cooking oil to the crust ingredients.

Hope this helps.

I'm not an expert on pastrys but I'm sure someone will give you some advice soon. They're just working their rounds... :)

A couple thoughts:

Did you generously butter the foil?