Any Personal Chefs Out There?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChrissyMc

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I am a private chef working for a family. I work for them 3 days a week, but I would like to add 2-3 more days to my scedule. I've been having a hard time finding someone who is willing to take me on for just wednesdays and fridays, which are my available days. I was thinking of offering personal cheffing on those two days. Since I work for an hourly wage at the private job, I was wondering how much to charge for the personal chef job? I've looked up the going rates for hiring a personal chef, and while it seems reasonably priced to me, it may not to the people I am looking to interest. I don't think a lot of people take into account the time spent preparing the food and then cleaning up afterwards. Not only does a chef shop for you, he/she prepares the food and leaves your kitchen cleaner than when they found it(usually, anyway, lol). I think people would be more open to having someone cook for them if they realized just how much they spent on takeout and going to 2 restaurants a week.
I'm not sure exactly what I'm asking here, lol. I think I want to give a fair price, but at the same time, make the potential client realize that hiring a personal chef will cost the same as ordering out and going out.
I live in an urban area (Philadelphia), and the wealthier suburbs are only a few minutes away. So...how do you decide what is a fair price?
Thanks for your advice, I really appreciate it.
ChrissyMc

You could try Craigslist to get an idea what other personal chefs are charging and what potential customers are offering. It may be difficult to find a 2-day a week gig.

I have no idea how the Personal Chef job works, but.....

Perhaps you can market yourself as a "I cook you a week's worth of meals in two days" chef? Or two days worth of meals a day?