Clueless herb grower

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dc2123

Cook
Hey guys I just had the idea to grow some herbs this summer before it ends. My only problem is I know nothing about it. For instance; what I have to buy, what kind of pot or soil needed, how much sun they need/water. I have no knowledge so any tips will help.

Also if you have any suggestions on herbs to grow. I was going to do basil, tyme, and rosemary.

Hi. I've been growing herbs for over 20 years - they're among the easiest plants to grow. They don't need any special soil or pots - any good potting soil will do and they can be grown in pretty much any kind of container. Rosemary and thyme don't need a lot of fertilizer or water; I plant basil with my tomatoes, since they need about the same amount of water.

Rosemary will grow into a large shrub - say, 3 feet by 3 feet - if you let it, but it can be trimmed to keep it smaller. Thyme grows to about 6-8 inches tall and will spread out, but again, can be clipped back to suit your container. Basil can get a couple of feet tall, and will be more bushy if you cut several inches of stems when you harvest it. With all of these, you can harvest as much as you need at one time.

In the fall when they start to fade, I cut back thyme and rosemary and put the stems in dry vases. Then I let them sit in the kitchen till they're dry, strip the leaves off the stems, and refill my dried herb jars. This works for woody herbs, like rosemary, thyme, sage and oregano. For soft herbs like parsley, basil and cilantro, I whiz them in the food processor with an equal amount of water, then portion the mixture into ice cube trays and freeze. Then you can throw a cube into winter soups, stews and sauces.