Goose

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Martha

Assistant Cook
I'm getting a 15 lb fresh goose for Thanksgiving and would some ideas for ways to prepare it. Any suggestions.

Martha

Miss Martha I've never cooked a goose, but I would guess that just about anyway you can cook a turkey would work just fine!

Have Fun!

Goose and Prunes

Found a receipe that uses a prune sauce with chestnuts but I'm concerned that all my guests would get the runs.

Don't know if cooking prunes into a sauce renders them harmless or not!

Thanks, Martha

My family has had roast goose for Xmas as long as I can remember (much longer before it became so de rigeur), & I've been making it myself for Xmas for the last 30 years or so.

I can't recommend highly enough Julia Child's steam-roasting method as outlined in her The Way To Cook cookbook. You can probably find the recipe online. It's the only way I roast goose these days. Comes out perfect everytime, & the accompanying Port Wine gravy is to die for.

I know many people like prunes with goose, but to me it's "blech", as is "stuffing". I just love the plain roasted goose with the Port Wine gravy, which also makes a lovely accompaniment to the Czech bread dumplings & sauerkraut that I also serve with the bird.

Madeira doesn't figure at all in Julia's last edition of The Way To Cook. The goose is steam-braised in dry red wine (burgundy or equivalent), & the gravy is made from Port.

Apparently Julia thought better of it & switched the wine of choice to Port. Which is really the better choice, as Port is definitely less "intense" than Madeira.

(Edited after I realized that Julia had originally used Madeira in her recipe before realizing the error of her ways in her later editions of her cookbooks - lol!!!!)

Last edited: