Live Lobsters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shaheen

Senior Cook
Last night I went for a seafood festival and bought a dozen lobsters. I have heard a lot about it but haven't tried it so I thought this would be a good time. They were alive and moving! The only seafood that I have made had been cleaned so this is giving me the creeps:ohmy: The lady just removed the legs so that it would move. I came home and pushed it in the freezer. Now I don't know what I should do.

1) how should I cook it? (the lady said plunge it into boiling water, but shouldn't it be cleaned first?)

2) is it eary to remove the meat before cooking it? since some recipes call for lobster meat.

3) any links to a video of a lobster being cleaned and cooked?

4) the lobster has been in the freezer for almost a day. Is it dead now? (this sounds silly, but I'm sorry, I'm new to this!)

thanks! :D

Last edited:
I`m not sure you should have frozen then alive first!
I only know of putting them whole into the boiling water whilst still alive to cook them, and Then you extract the meat, you can feeze it later if you wish.

as for ease of meat extraction, it isn`t easy at 1`st, but after doing a few you learn a few little tricks that speed up the process.
it`s also usual to keep the white meat and the darker meat seperate also.
there is also something inside called "dead mans fingers" you Must remove those and do not eat them! they taste absolutely disgusting, and will contaminate the taste of the rest of the meat if you don`t.

What a shame you simply didn't take them all, completely intact and drop them into boiling water that night or the next day.

Lobster is one of the few delicacies that rarely are frozen, eaten as fresh as possible.