"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 03-08-2015, 11:17 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

ISO Help - Meatloaf

I'm new to DC and not quite sure how to ask a question, but here goes: Meatloaf is one of my favorite dishes, but my meatloaf will not hold together well for slicing. It has good flavor but it's eaten in chunks. Do I use more egg, or should I bake it longer? Right now, I use about 2 eggs for a 2-pound loaf, baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Doing for a full hour has resulted in a dry meatloaf.

Old 03-08-2015, 11:27 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffeecup View Post
I'm new to DC and not quite sure how to ask a question, but here goes: Meatloaf is one of my favorite dishes, but my meatloaf will not hold together well for slicing. It has good flavor but it's eaten in chunks. Do I use more egg, or should I bake it longer? Right now, I use about 2 eggs for a 2-pound loaf, baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Doing for a full hour has resulted in a dry meatloaf.
Welcome to DC. I am sure someone will come along with an answer to your problem with meatloaf.

I am the last person to help you. My kids have threatened me that they will put me in a home if I ever make meatloaf again.

Old 03-08-2015, 11:56 PM   #3
Master Chef

Quote:
Hi Coffeecup, and welcome.

Do you add any bread crumbs, crushed saltines, or oatmeal to your meatloaf mix? That helps act as a binder and holds the meatloaf together a little better. I use about 1/2 -3/4 cup of some kind of grain for 2 lbs of meatloaf. I usually use a loaf pan for the meatloaf just to form it and pack it, then take it out and put it in a larger roasting pan. It has a chance to brown all the way around that way and doesn't sit in so much grease from the baking process.
Old 03-09-2015, 02:36 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire