Make Ahead Freezable Foods?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cflynn

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I am going out of town for a month, and I want to prepare some meals ahead of time for my boyfriend...so he is not living on pizza and Chinese ;).
Many of the dishes I am finding online are great if you want to prepare now and cook later, but I am looking for meals that I can cook completly, freeze in single serve portions, and he can thaw, and pop in the mircowave, oven or on the stove, in a short amount of time.
Any suggestions? Also, I am a cooking novice, so the easier the better!
Thanks!! :)

Almost any casserole
Meatloaf
Meatballs
Beans loaded with meat
Chili
Hearty soups

You can freeze meals or parts of meals. Cook up several chicken breasts and wrap them individually to be mixed and matched with different sides.

Is he willing to do sides such as Rice mixes or frozen veggies to go with the chicken? This would also work with other cooked meats.

Maybe if you'd do nothing - he'd be tempted to try 'cooking'

Or does that worry you? :)

Maybe if you'd do nothing - he'd be tempted to try 'cooking'

Or does that worry you? :)

haha! I know that won't happen :LOL: it would be more likely he would not eat, or go to his mother's...which will happen a bit, but I am just trying to be nice :)

How about some french toast? Make it, fry it and freeze it. Leave syrup in the fridge. he can reheat it in the toaster oven. Easy.

Egg McMuffins (homemade), quiche slices, oatmeal bars. Just nuke, no defrosting needed.

Last edited:
I don't want to get into any personal problems here and neither want accusations of preaching - but I really think almost everyone can be tempted into doing some kind of cooking themselves.

And very often it's something they will quickly learn - the more they know - the easier to go the next step.