"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-13-2012, 01:25 PM   #1
Head Chef

"Stabbing" meat to marinate?

I ran across a recipe for a marinade for steaks. It calls for stabbing the steak all over with a fork so the marinade can permeate the meat. I have never done this before. Have any of you? Wouldn't it make the juices run out of the beef?

Old 02-13-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyndalou View Post
I ran across a recipe for a marinade for steaks. It calls for stabbing the steak all over with a fork so the marinade can permeate the meat. I have never done this before. Have any of you? Wouldn't it make the juices run out of the beef?
It's OK to stab a raw piece of meat. Just don't do it after it's been cooking.

Old 02-13-2012, 01:42 PM   #3
Senior Cook

It's funny to read this now because I read a recipe that said to stab the steak before marinading and I tried it on Saturday and trust me the steak was still nice and juicy and had soaked up all the flavours from the marinade:) So I would say yes, go ahead and stab!:)
Old 02-13-2012, 01:43 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Andy's correct. You'll be fine. The stabbing (puncturing) of the meat allows for the marinade to get into the fibers of the meat. You'll have a tasty end product as a result.
Old 02-13-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
Senior Cook

Location: Central Kentucky---Where The Bluegrass Meets The Mountains
A fork certainly works---so long as it's long-tined. Even more efficient is to take two forks and line them up back to back. Then, holding them by their handles, start stabbing.