"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Vegetables

Old 07-11-2011, 08:48 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Soggy skillet potatoes..what am I doing wrong?

Hi all,

I am new to the forum. I am 23 years old and i have been cooking for about two years now so i am fairly new to cooking. I have so many questions and concerns but right i would like to know what i am doing wrong....

Everytime i cook thinly sliced potatoes on a skillet with some oil they alway come out soggy. I would love to know how to make them crispy.

Thank you.

Old 07-11-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Senior Cook

Don't put too many in at one time. They will steam, not fry if you crowd the skillet

Old 07-11-2011, 08:58 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

No wonder! Thank you so much :)
Old 07-11-2011, 09:45 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

You may also need a little higher temp.

If you can't see the bright side of life, polish the dull side.
Zhizara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 09:52 PM   #5
Chief Eating Officer

Tell us exactly what you are doing and we will have a better idea on what the issue is. Both suggestions so far could be right.
Old 07-11-2011, 11:49 PM   #6
Assistant Cook

Depending on what size skillet I'm using I will 1/2 and 1/2 olive oil/butter, turn heat on to about medium (electric stove) between 6 and 7, put potatoes in when hot, cover till about 1/2 of the way done (few minutes when thin) and then remove cover, turn up heat to mid-high and turn only a few times (as to not make them fall apart) when crispy to my liking. I've found that when I do this it helps to make sure the potato is able to finish cooking towards the end when I'm crisping them.
Old 07-12-2011, 02:37 AM   #7
Executive Chef