ISO Black Bean Soup recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sandyj

Sous Chef
I had a wonderful black bean soup at a Mexican cafe recently and I asked for the recipe. The waiter looked puzzled at first (maybe he thought I was complaining?!), then called the cook. Unfortunately neither the waiter or the cook could speak English well enough for me to understand, although they both kept trying to tell me how easy it is to make.

Their soup was served with a little bit of freshly cut onion on top. It had almost a creamy texture, and didn't have a lot of spice in it, just enough....(I'm new to this sort of food).

Since I discovered I like this soup, I ordered it at a Panero restaurant on Saturday, but theirs had more spice and other ingredients - I actually liked the first one better. It was comfort food!

Does anyone have a great recipe or tips on making this soup to share? -Sandyj

Hopefully someone will have a tried and true recipe for you soon. I don't have one, but when I did a search, I found quite a few. You might want to do a search and see if any of the recipes sound like the one you liked.

:) Barbara

42.gif

One can only hope!

Barbara, I did attempt a search on bb soup from the search function in DC, but I seemed to find a lot of bean recipes or soup recipes, but nothing specific. I have found what looks to be a good recipe in my "The New Best Recipe" cook book. I would still love to see a recipe from one of the dc members! -Sandyj

Oops! I missed this one! Here is my recipe for you.

Soak: 1 lb black beans overnight

Saute: (In your dutch oven or other LARGE pot) 1 diced onion, 1 chopped carrot, 1 chopped celery stalk and 5 strips of diced bacon. Usually about 5-10 minutes.

Add: 3 cloves crushed garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp cayenne, 2 bay leaves.

Drain beans and add to mixture.