"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Eggs, Cheese & Dairy
Click Here to Login
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 02:11 PM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
CWS4322's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rural Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 12,820
You can also substitute coconut, almond, rice, hemp, or quinoa "milk" for dairy in most recipes.

I've got OCD--Obsessive Chicken Disorder!
CWS4322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:32 PM   #12
Executive Chef
Mad Cook's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: North West England
Posts: 4,502
Originally Posted by robbitthehobbit View Post
I have a friend who lives in my house and she is completely lactose intolerant. She can't have anything with even a trace of dairy products (even lactose free milk and goats milk) because she will feel sick. I make food that I usually share with house mates and I feel bad every time I make stuff because it usually has dairy in it and she can't have any.

Basically what I need are a few ideas for substitutes in recipies that I use. I bake chocolate chip cookies often and I know I can substitute crisco or some other type of fat there, I also usually add a dollop of sour cream in them because it helps them stay chewy longer. Is there a substitute I can use for that? I had a thought that maybe a soft tofu might work for that one but I don't know. Secondly, I make pizza as well and I need some sort of substitute for dairy cheese. Finally I ask, Where can I get this kind of stuff because it seems to be lacking at my local rainbow grocery store.

Any help would be much appreciated :D
Most "normal" recipes can be adapted and there are lots of vegan cook books on Amazon. (Vegans don't eat, drink or wear anything of animal origin even if the animal wasn't killed in the process.)

There are non-dairy "milks" such as soya, almond, rice, etc., You can also buy dairy-free "cream" and "yoghourt" and if you ask in a speciality store for vegan "cheese" this will be dairy-free. You can also get dairy-free olive oil and soya based spreads for baking, shallow frying and spreading on bread, toast etc. Always check the labels though as those labelled "suitable for vegans" are ok but any labelled "suitable for vegetarians" may have milk derivatives in them.

Most of these are available in ordinary supermarkets in the UK so I would think the same would apply in other countries. Do you have a Jewish community in your area? Often stores serving them sell non-dairy substitutes because of the strict dietary rules. You could also google for a vegan store in your area.

I appreciate your difficulties as I have a vegan friend who, to make matters worse is allergic to anything with citric acid in it, whether naturally occurring (such as tomatoes, oranges, etc.), or put in as an added ingredient!

Mad Cook is offline   Reply With Quote

cheese, eating, other

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.