"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2004, 07:12 PM   #31
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Well, Wayne, I think I found an answer for you thanks to our old friend Alton Brown.

The problem is the mixer design - not the maker. The Sunbeam, and all other mixers based on that type design, do not create enough friction to knead the dough. They are essentially hand mixers stuck on a stand. They are good for mixing, whipping, and beating - which is good when making doughs that you don't want to develop the gluten in like cakes or pie crusts, pancake batter - but not for things where you have to develop the gluten such as breads, pasta, etc.

The other group of stand mixers that will create the friction with the dough hook rubbing the dough against the side of the bowl use planitary motion, and only use one whisk/beater/dough hook. Instead of the attachments being stationary and the bowl turning around (which is apparently where the friction is lost) the bowl is stationary and attachments move in two directions ... the attachment is moved around the bowl in one direction while it spins in the opposite direction. This is the way the Hobart/KitchenAid mixers work. Wolfgang Puck has come out with one, and so has an Italian company, DeLonghi, and I "think" I saw someone else had come out with one but I don't remember who or where I saw it.

Anyway - I hope this helps explain the difference in the mixers and why some will both mix and knead for you and others only do the mixing.
__________________

__________________
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 07:57 PM   #32
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Audeo - I wouldn't worry about the KitchenAid being able to handle your bread kneads - even as often as you bake bread. Just follow the instructions - if it says to let it rest between batches then I would but I don't remember seeing that in my manual for bread, but it does for the pasta extrusion plates, but I know that really stresses the motor the way the extrusion dies work and the density of the dough. Remember, there are commercial kitchens who use them everyday - and I'm sure they wouldn't if they didn't last. Watch the BIG cooking competions and see how many use KitchenAid. I'm sure they wouldn't if they didn't feel they could count on them.

You know how many watts power your KA has ... how many watts does the motor in your bread machine have? I've gone through the manuals on several bread machines and haven't found that information listed.
__________________

__________________
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 09:54 PM   #33
Head Chef
 
Audeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA,Texas
Posts: 1,871
Hmmm...going to check the wattages...
__________________
Pain is inevitable. Suffering is Optional.
Audeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:01 PM   #34
 
choclatechef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,680
I read somewhere in my mixer collecting forum, that it is not wattage that indicates the power of the machine, it is actually torque!

Now, I don't understand all of it, but I will quote the source for you in a minute.
__________________
choclatechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:06 PM   #35
 
choclatechef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,680
Ok. I found it in a post dated 10/6/04,

"Hello fellow Mixer Collectors:

The strength of an electric motor is not in how many watts it is rated. It
is the amount of torque it can produce.

Some manufacturers in the past actually have added current wasting circuitry to give you the impression you are buying a stronger motor. Others have added weight plates and made the "case" bigger to give you the imression there's a big motor inside.

Unfortunately, torque is not measured even by Consumer Reports. And mixers are not disassembled to reveal that to consumers."
__________________
choclatechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:13 PM   #36
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
That's true choclatechef!

But nothing is advertised in ft/lbs torque - just watts or hp. For example - the Hobart N50 is only rated at 1/6 HP (about 167 watts) but due to it's gearing and the diameter of the copper wire in the windings in the induction motor , and maybe the size of the magnets in the shaft, too - it probably produces more tortue than the 525-watt KA.

What is advertised is mainly a matter of how many watts of energy a motor can produce. Some produce less HP but are more efficient at transferring that power into actual work. The true test is how effeciently that energy is used.

It's kind of like trying to compare Paul Bunion to the 7-Dwarfs. 8)
__________________
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 10:57 PM   #37
Head Chef
 
Audeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA,Texas
Posts: 1,871
With apoligies for the delay...emergency calls...

Hitachi bread machine: 680 watts
KitchenAid Pro: 525 watts

Hmmmm.....
__________________
Pain is inevitable. Suffering is Optional.
Audeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 12:26 AM   #38
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael in FtW
Well, Wayne, I think I found an answer for you thanks to our old friend Alton Brown.
Thanx for the effort you and the other guys have gone to. Helped greatly.
__________________
WayneT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 04:42 PM   #39
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA,California
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to runninduo
Coincidentally.........a woman I know from another message board (all the women on the board had babies in Nov 2001) was looking into Kitchenaid Stand mixers. She lives in Canada and I was shocked to hear how much more expensive they were there than here. So I guess there really is a price differential.

For the record.......there would be "customs issues" with bringing one in from the states. my dh happens to work for customs here in Los Angeles.

Since the product would brought into Australia (and not the US), he doesn't know the specifics of the tax on home appliances such as this, but he suggested you look for Austraila's Customs website.

Also, here in the US, there is a promotion going on with kitchenaid accessories......30% off various accessories. I purchased a 2nd bowl. If anyone is interested the website is kitchenaid.com/mixers and the toll free # is 1-800-541-6390. The promo code is MIXER30

Good luck. I'm sorry they are pohibitively expensive in Australia. I've had mine for a year and a half and use it at least 3 times a week.
__________________
Laurie
"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent."-Eleanor Roosevelt
runninduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 10:20 PM   #40
 
choclatechef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by runninduo
Coincidentally.........a woman I know from another message board (all the women on the board had babies in Nov 2001) was looking into Kitchenaid Stand mixers. She lives in Canada and I was shocked to hear how much more expensive they were there than here. So I guess there really is a price differential.

For the record.......there would be "customs issues" with bringing one in from the states. my dh happens to work for customs here in Los Angeles.

Since the product would brought into Australia (and not the US), he doesn't know the specifics of the tax on home appliances such as this, but he suggested you look for Austraila's Customs website.

Also, here in the US, there is a promotion going on with kitchenaid accessories......30% off various accessories. I purchased a 2nd bowl. If anyone is interested the website is kitchenaid.com/mixers and the toll free # is 1-800-541-6390. The promo code is MIXER30

Good luck. I'm sorry they are pohibitively expensive in Australia. I've had mine for a year and a half and use it at least 3 times a week.
Hummm..... That being the case, I think that makes my idea of buying a vintage Hobart Kitchenaid on E-bay the wisest choice for a Canadian or Australian cook!

You get a better machine, and a much cheaper price all the way around! You could probably buy 4 to 6 vintage Kitchenaids for the price of one new one!
__________________

__________________
choclatechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone use a Sunbeam Stand Mixer? Bangbang Cookware and Accessories 33 04-15-2007 07:46 AM


» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.