Cake idea, what do you think??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

htc

Head Chef
I have just recently started using silken tofu, and made some chocolate mousse with it, turned out GREAT! I liked it so much, I was thinking of using it as a "frosting" on a cake.

Here is what I would use: 1 box silken tofu, 8 oz chocolate, melted, 1 banana & a little maple syrup. (this is what I used for the mousse). I would blend all of this in the blender, when it's done, it's kind of runny.

So how would I go about spreading it on a round cake? Should I wait for it to set just a little? Or try to spread it right away? Once it sets, it's thick and I think will be perfect for frosting. Frosting the top of the cake even when it's runny shouldn't even be that much of a problem, but I'm not sure about the sides.

What do you think?? Thanks!:)

Sounds good to me, htc, but I'm no expert. However, I've been thinking of sneaking some tofu in on my family under the cover of puddings, frostings, etc.

If it's runny after blending, my impulse would be to wait until you have a more spreadable consistency. If you spread immediately on a warm cake, it will be even more runny unless you are going for a glaze kind of thing.

Just my amateur 2 cents.

Sounds like a great experiment, htc! I'd definitely wait until the cake is cool to ice it. Like mudbug said, whether or not you wait for the frosting to set a little is up to the result you want. If you think you can put it on when it's runny and it won't run too much, it could be an interesting ganache. If you want more of a traditional frosting consistency, then I'd be sure to let it thicken some first--that goes for if you want to use it between cake layers, too.

Let us know what you decide to do!:chef:

Thanks for the advice! I was also thinking of the ganache thing. :)