Chocolate cookie troubles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fuzzbucket

Assistant Cook
I made a batch of chocolate cookie dough, after not making any cookies for a year and losing my good recipe. The one I found seems pretty good, and I made a few cookies, and they rose and looked almost perfect, but this
img_849074_0_fc17a6112695b012988d46e502204c30.jpg
is what happened. They got flat and the inside was undone, even though I left them in fr 5 minutes beyond the specification. I'm no expert, so I was wondering if someone could help me?
I think it may be that i should add a little more baking soda, but could it be that I'm using a small toaster oven instead of a proper oven? Maybe I should use a different temperature or leave them in longer. Also, my oven can heat from the top, bottom or both, and I heat it from the bottom alone.

One more question- I use silver foil, not cookie paper, because when I tried greased sheets my oven started smoking. Is there a special kind of cookie sheet? When I checked the package, I saw that what I'd bought was actually sandwich wrappers....

i often use foil on pan s for cookies. i grease or don't depending on what the recipe says. maybe you are over doing the grease and that is why it is smoking. other than that, i have no clue........i have never used a toaster oven, so can't help you there.

Try them in a regular oven. Do you have a cookie sheet (a pan, not a liner)? also, I've used parchment paper, made for cooking, in the oven with no problems.
I would try the recipe again in a regular oven with a cookie sheet.
cookie sheet - Google Images

Your problem indicates that you've probably crowded the pan - i.e. too many cookies on the pan.