ISO Pea and Ham Soup Recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bea

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone,

I am very new at this chat room business so I hope you'll all be nice and tell me if i'm not doing something right.

I am looking for a recipe for Pea and Ham soup. I can't stand the stuff but my flatmates love it. Thought it would be a nice surprise if i made it for them tonight.

Belinda

Bea,

Welcome to DiscussCooking!!! We're the nicest bunch of people around so you don't have to worry about that!!! You are doing everything just perfect! Now, for that ham and pea soup - here are a few:

SPLIT PEA SOUP
8 cups water
1 pound dried split peas (about 2-1/4 cups)
1 to 2 lb smoked ham (or a couple smoked ham hocks)
1 med onion
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 or 3 carrots chopped
2 or 3 stalks celery chopped

Heat water and peas to boiling. Boil for 2 minutes, then remove from heat and cover. Let sit for 1 hour.

Add ham (whole), onion, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer until peas are tender, about 1 hour.

Remove ham and trim meat from bone. (I usually use 1 lb boneless smoked ham). Cut ham to 1/2 inch pieces. Stir ham, carrots, and celery into soup. Cover and simmer until veggies are tender, about 45 minutes.

It freezes well.

GREEN SPLIT PEA SOUP
Serves 4-6
16 Ounces dry green split peas
2 Scallions, chopped
1 Small onion, chopped
¾ Cup celery, chopped
5 Cups water
5 Cups chicken broth
½ Teaspoon thyme
4-6 Ounce ham shank
4 Cloves garlic
1 Bay leaf

1. In a large pot, bring the water and chicken broth to a boil.

2. Rinse the beans and drain. Add them to the pot and stir.

3. Remove the thick skin of fat surrounding the ham and
discard. Trim as much fat as possible. Add the meat to the pot.

4. Add the scallions, onion, garlic, celery, bay leaf and thyme.
Return the pot to a boil and simmer for 1 hour.

5. Remove the meat from the pot and dice into bite size pieces.